ARC | Manga/Graphic Novel Review #58 – Doom Patrol, Vol.1: Brick by Brick, by Gerard Way, Nick Derington and Tamra Bonvillain

Hey everyone!

Here is my review for Doom Patrol, Vol.1: Brick by Brick, by Gerard Way, Nick Derington and Tamra Bonvillain, out next week!

Get this title from Book Depository

9781401269791

Pros:

  • gorgeous art

 

Cons:

  • so confusing
  • didn’t know what was happening 90% of the time

 

Verdict:

I have read one of Way’s comics but it was such a long time ago, I can’t even remember what it was about. But I was super obsessed with him when I was a teen so I wanted to read something by him with a more critical mind and I have to say, I’m disappointed. Not because of the writting itself but because I’m sure this kind of story requires this weird af narrative. But I didn’t like it, at all. I wasn’t sure what was really happening most of the time. I didn’t knew who those people were supposed to be or what the hell they were saying. I felt alienated most of the times, and so utterly bored. Honestly, at the end I think I got a bit of the whole picture of the thing, but I still didn’t like it. The only thing that made me continue reading was the art. It was beautiful. The artist was amazing but Bonvillian just killed it with the colours. I’ve known her work from Angel Catbird and she never disappoints. SUCH AMAZING, PRETTY COLOURS! This wasn’t totally a terrible experience but still, nothing I would particularly recommend.

Anyone has read this already? Or the original comics? Maybe other works by Way? Let me know!

Until soon,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “ARC | Manga/Graphic Novel Review #58 – Doom Patrol, Vol.1: Brick by Brick, by Gerard Way, Nick Derington and Tamra Bonvillain

Leave a Reply

