ARC | Manga/Graphic Novel Review #59 – Bitch Planet, Vol.2: President Bitch, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro

Hello!

Here is my review for Bitch Planet, Vol.2: President Bitch, by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro, coming out tomorrow! I’m already waiting for my copy.

Get this book from Book Depository

9781632157171_a6847

Synopsis:

Eisner Award-nominated writer KELLY SUE DeCONNICK (PRETTY DEADLY, Captain Marvel) and VALENTINE DE LANDRO (X-Factor) follow up on the success of EXTRAORDINARY MACHINE with the second installment of their highly acclaimed and fiercely unapologetic BITCH PLANET. A few years down the road in the wrong direction, a woman’s failure to comply with her patriarchal overlords results in exile to the meanest penal planet in the galaxy. But what happened on Earth that this new world order came to pass in the first place? Return to the grim corridors of Auxiliary Compliance Outpost #2, to uncover the first clues to the history of the world as we know it…and meet PRESIDENT BITCH.

 

Pros:

  • more grittier and punchier than the first volume
  • actually, I liked this one more
  • because there’s so many development in both the characters and the plot
  • new great characters!
  • my heart gave in a bit

 

Cons:

  • the art still isn’t my favourite

 

Verdict:

Y’all know I love graphic novels and when they cross with feminism, I’m all over it. Bitch Planet was one of my favourite reads of 2015 (you can see my review here) and I was dying for this second volume. I screamed when I got the arc, it was the highlight of my month (probably). And I wasn’t disappointed in the slightest. This is really a step up from the first and I didn’t think that was possible. It’s more action packed, more punchier and even heavier (especially that first issue). Although it broke my heart a couple of times, I was into it the whole time. I loved the new characters (can’t mention my favourite because her name is a spoiler) and the new relationships between them. I’m really in love with these women and their strength to fight the system. I’m terrified for them though but the last few pages hyped me up so much! I can’t wait for the next instalment. Like in the past volume, I’m still not sure what I think of the art. It isn’t necessarily bad but with the way it’s done, it’s so many times hard to interpret facial expressions and even traits. It just obscures too much. Still, it does not take away from the many, many good things this has. I was pleasantly surprised that issue #6 had a trigger warning page. It was definitely necessary and I’m glad this kind of percussions are starting to be taken. Anyway, I strongly recommend it to anyone interested in feminism.

Stay non-compliant!

Cat.

Leave a Reply

