Book Review #151 – Crooked Kingdom, by Leigh Bardugo

Hello hello!

Here is my review for Crooked Kingdom, by Leigh Bardugo.

Get this book from Book Depository

Crookedkingdom

Synopsis:

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

 

Pros:

  • Kaz and Inej
  • action packed
  • very emotional at times
  • Bardugo really shines with her writing in this series

 

Cons:

  • too confusing and overcomplicated, unnecessarily
  • too long
  • does an even less convincing job at standing well without the original Grisha trilogy
  • narrative is too unreliable

 

Verdict:

I can’t believe I’m finally done with this series, I’m not alone any longer! But I must admit I’m still a bit alone because I didn’t really love this as everyone else seemed to do. Maybe it was the hype, I don’t know. I just didn’t fell head over hills with it. I guess the thing that turns me off the most is how the plot is always so confusing and unreliable. You can’t really trust on what the characters are saying or doing because the next change of paragraph, everything was part of some bigger plan or even a decoy. It’s just frustrating, it stops being exciting little into this series. I feel like this book tries a lot to be exciting but then it fails with the over complications. Does that make any sense? Anyway, I guess that was the worst thing about this. Other that I didn’t really care about was how dependent this was from the original Grisha trilogy. Bardugo is such a good writer, she is becoming more and more excellent with every new book. I really don’t think she needs to rely on that world so much. There were still many ways for this series to be great without the whole Grisha thing. It feels like an unnecessary safety boat at this point. Because in terms of writing, I’m really satisfied with this one. Problems I had with Six of Crows, like the characters’ relationships not feeling real, were totally solved. I was very invested in them. Especially Kaz and Inej. I think y’all know how little I care for romances, but I love these two. Also, this is very emotional and action packed, which makes the read really interesting overall. Although there’s things about this book (and series) that didn’t really resonate with me, I think they are quite competent either way. I just wished they were a bit different.

Have you read this book? Are you on the “best thing ever” side? Let me know!

See you soon,

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Book Review #151 – Crooked Kingdom, by Leigh Bardugo

  1. i actually loved crooked kingdom and soc! i do agree that it was too depedent on the grisha world but also that the writing was seriously amazinggggg. additionally, i think the relationships could have been better developed (i guess there were just too many) but i still loved the series so so much.

    Like

  2. I just finished the series myself (so you weren’t the only one nothaving read them) and I pretty much liked them, it was fun and action packed and I got pretty invested in all the ships and characters’ stories and all (i myself am a sucker for romance). It was a great duology but still i felt sth was lacking. It had all the potential to do so but it didn’t become another of my favourite series.
    And I also agree that it relies too much on the original trilogy, especially because i didn’t care that much for the original trilogy. I”d like to recommend this books without saying “but you have to read these 3 meh books before to understand what’s happening”.

    Like

    • yeah, I definitely felt the same! maybe it was the hype, I don’t know but there was indeed something missing. I liked the original trilogy but I don’t see the point of lingering so much in that world, it seems like milking a dry cow. but I guess I’ll keep reading the books the author will be putting out anyway 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

