ARC | Book Review #152 – Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body, by Roxane Gay

Hello guys!

Here is my review for the amazing book that is Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body, by Roxane Gay. It’s out today!

Trigger warnings: rape, sexual abuse, fatphobia

Currently Book Depository doesn’t have the hardback available but you can pre-order the paperback here

9780062362599_df565

Synopsis:

From the bestselling author of Bad Feminist: a searingly honest memoir of food, weight, self-image, and learning how to feed your hunger while taking care of yourself

I ate and ate and ate in the hopes that if I made myself big, my body would be safe. I buried the girl I was because she ran into all kinds of trouble. I tried to erase every memory of her, but she is still there, somewhere. . . . I was trapped in my body, one that I barely recognized or understood, but at least I was safe.

In her phenomenally popular essays and long-running Tumblr blog, Roxane Gay has written with intimacy and sensitivity about food and body, using her own emotional and psychological struggles as a means of exploring our shared anxieties over pleasure, consumption, appearance, and health. As a woman who describes her own body as “wildly undisciplined,” Roxane understands the tension between desire and denial, between self-comfort and self-care. In Hunger, she explores her own past—including the devastating act of violence that acted as a turning point in her young life—and brings readers along on her journey to understand and ultimately save herself.

With the bracing candor, vulnerability, and power that have made her one of the most admired writers of her generation, Roxane explores what it means to learn to take care of yourself: how to feed your hungers for delicious and satisfying food, a smaller and safer body, and a body that can love and be loved—in a time when the bigger you are, the smaller your world becomes.

 

Pros:

  • so honest, raw and personal
  • breaks your heart in about a million ways
  • Gay is one of the best writers alive right now, period

 

Cons:

  • nothing

 

Verdict:

There’s not a thing I could write right now will do this book any justice. I’m not skilled for that. This book is just amazing. It’s definitely the best book I’ve read all year and it’s on my top for all time. Yes, I’m hyping this book a lot but I cannot describe how much it touched me. It’s just so beautiful: it’s art. It’s something so brutally honest. There’s no sugar coating or anything. This is just a real life story of struggles. But as much as Gay completely bares herself naked in these pages, this is not something for you to feel pity or about. There’s just not space for that. I could never talk so candidly about myself or even my experiences. I appreciate the author’s courage to share these things with us readers. Some of the stories can be a bit redundant but the way Gay writes is just sublime. No wonder this book had to be delayed. And I’m glad it was. You can see the care, sweat and pain in the words. The way Gay analyses the world, its and her own relationship with her body made me a lot more conscious on how living with a bigger frame can influence your physical and emotional life. There’s things I never even thought about and this made me more aware, sensitive and committed to make the world a better place for everyone. Literally. Fuck, I really love this book. It’s one of those books that 1) I loved too much 2) it’s too amazing for someone as meh with words as myself to talk about it. So, I’m not sure how to express my feelings for it. Please be aware of the triggers while reading it. If you’re ready for a bit of pain and endurance, I promise you this book is worth reading. I’ve been unsure about Gay’s previous works (it was mostly her subjects, although I understand them much better now, rather than the writing itself, which was always excellent) but this book is just phenomenal and an experience that will not leave you unmoved.

Until soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

