Book Review #153 – Ahsoka, by E. K. Johnston

Hey hey!

Here is my review for a book about my favourite padawan ever! It’s Ahsoka, by E. K. Johnston.

Get this book from Book Depository

Ahsoka_novel_cover.png

Synopsis:

Fans have long wondered what happened to Ahsoka after she left the Jedi Order near the end of the Clone Wars, and before she re-appeared as the mysterious Rebel operative Fulcrum in Rebels. Finally, her story will begin to be told. Following her experiences with the Jedi and the devastation of Order 66, Ahsoka is unsure she can be part of a larger whole ever again. But her desire to fight the evils of the Empire and protect those who need it will lead her right to Bail Organa, and the Rebel Alliance….

 

Pros:

  • Ahsoka is a really good character
  • a little more insight on the life after The Clone Wars

 

Cons:

  • doesn’t stand without the animated series
  • plot didn’t really resonate with me
  • wasn’t a bit fan of the writing either

 

Verdict:

Well, I still don’t know what to think about this one. I think I’m disappointed. I’ve just recently finished The Clone Wars. I didn’t watch the whole series because I just couldn’t get into it, for some reason. I used a guide for the most important arcs and I ended up really enjoying myself. My favourite characters ended up always being the ladies, specially Asajj Ventress and Ahsoka. So yes, I was really interested in this book. I’m glad I waited until I finished the show to pick this one. I guess I wouldn’t have understood half of this without the show. That makes perfectly sense, yes, but I don’t know why I was expecting it not to have so many references to the show. I think the thing I was more effy about this book was just the writing and the way the author chose to show the story. There’s big time and character changes throughout the chapters and it makes it really confusing to read because you never know what to expect from the next chapter. Sometimes you think it’s going to be about something but then it turns out to be another completely different subject and it takes a little to focus. And, for most part, what happens just isn’t interesting. I was more into the chapters not so focused on Ahsoka and the ending. The rest was just, meh. And that was disappointing because I truly enjoy this character and seeing her involved in something that interested me almost nothing, sucked. Even if the little insight on what life was after The Clone Wars, this was still disappointing and not the read I was really expecting, unfortunately.

Have any of you read this? I need to continue reading the canon Star Wars books.

Until soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

