ARC | Manga/Graphic Novel Review #60 – Motor Crush, Vol.1, by Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart and Babs Tarr

Hey everyone!

Here is my review for my new favourite comic! It’s Motor Crush, Vol.1, by Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart and Babs Tarr.

Get this title from Book Depository

9781534301894_3b48c

Synopsis: 

The team behind the critically-acclaimed revamp of Batgirlreturns with an exciting sci-fi action-adventure series!
By day, Domino Swift competes for fame & fortune in a worldwide motorcycle racing league. By night, she cracks heads of rival gangs in brutal bike wars to gain possession of a rare, valuable contraband: an engine-boosting “machine narcotic” known as Crush.

 

Pros:

  • Fletcher, Stewart and Tarr do it again
  • who knew motorcycles were so cool
  • story is not what it seems
  • I can’t express how much I love Tarr’s art, I really can’t

 

Cons:

  • if I had to really nitpick, I would just say that drawing babies isn’t Tarr’s expertize

 

Verdict:

You might remember that I reviewed the first issue some months ago. I pretty much picked this because I just love team Fletcher, Stewart and Tarr too much. And damn, I was not let down one little bit! I wasn’t too sure about the motorcycle thing when I first heard about it but they made them out so cool in here. The race sequences are just so intense and fun to read. I love the little strobes the headlights leave. It gives the art so much movement and it’s perfect for this subject. But I was pleasantly surprised to learn that this comic is more than that. It really dives into the sci-fi realm and I’m digging it. I’m not sure where it’s going but I’m into it. The mystery is making me super curious! Plus, I love the characters. Domino is a badass and her girl, Lola, is just amazing! I love their dynamics. I also love Domino’s dad, he’s such a caring but silly dude. I’ve talked about the art a bit but y’all know how much I love Tarr so I’m going to talk about it again. It’s amazing!! I love the pink mixed with browns and blacks in the night scenes. I love the colourful pages during the day. I really love Tarr’s style but if I have to somehow get something to complain about, I’ll have to say that her babies look just like grown people but with tiny bodies. But that was nothing and I even feel bad for bringing it up. Anyway, her art is beautiful and almost flawless and it makes me enjoy about 80% more of the titles her work’s in. I wished this had some character design development as bonus but the cover gallery is beautiful as well. What I’m trying to say is that this is a great new comic. It’s fresh, beautiful and captivating. I’ll strongly advise to pick it up. You won’t regret it!

If you’ve read this or plan on, please let me know!

See you soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

