ARC | Book Review #155 – Girl on the Verge, by Pintip Dunn

Hey guys!

Here is my review for a new release. It’s Girl on the Verge, by Pintip Dunn.

Get this book from Book Depository

1483567980962

Synopsis:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

 

Pros:

  • very different from what I was expecting
  • nice twist on something that could easily be a regular YA contemporary read
  • well done exploration of feeling like you belong on several worlds but fit in none

 

Cons:

  • not sure how well the different genres mix together
  • ending was too self explanatory to be fun

 

Verdict:

The other day a friend of mine was just raving about this and I was curious. I didn’t really know what to expect but I am now convinced that’s the most incorrect attribution of a cover in the whole world. It has NOTHING to do with the themes of the book. Pretty sure people will pick it up and be totally surprised by it. Damn, I was! I did like this book, although I don’t think it’s perfect. There was just something about it that didn’t really click for me. I did like the mystery/thriller aspect of it. It was interesting to see it applied to such a young-focused narrative. What I was more iffy about was the romance. It felt to insta love and honestly, just pretext for the main point of this book. I wasn’t invested in the relationship at all so after that it was a bit harder to read. I do have to mention that I found the way the author explored the whole thing of thinking you belong to two worlds but fit in none, really lovely. It encapsulated the doubts and more specially, the plus of it! The incorporation of the Thai culture and the relation with that and that feeling was very nicely done too. Well, ultimately, I felt like this book did a lot of good things, and well. I definitely appreciated it. It’s different and something very refreshing to read. Unfortunately, it doesn’t always work and it wasn’t my favourite read. Still, mad props for the author and I’ll definitely keep her in my radar.

Don’t forget to pick this one if it sounded interesting for you!

See you soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

