Manga/Graphic Novel #61 – Persepolis, by Marjane Satrapi

Hello readers!

Here is my review for a gorgeous book! It’s Persepolis, by Marjane Satrapi.

Get this title from Book Depository

Persepolis

Synopsis:

The Story of a Childhood and The Story of a Return

The intelligent and outspoken child of radical Marxists, and the great-grandaughter of Iran’s last emperor, Satrapi bears witness to a childhood uniquely entwined with the history of her country. Persepolis paints an unforgettable portrait of daily life in Iran and of the bewildering contradictions between home life and public life. This is a beautiful and intimate story full of tragedy and humour – raw, honest and incredibly illuminating.

 

Pros:

  • beautiful story about normal life in times of war
  • also gorgeous coming of age story
  • great family dynamics
  • very adorable art

 

Cons:

  • sometimes I wished I had even a bigger understanding of the context of the political climate between Iran and Iraq

 

Verdict:

This was a book I had in my wishlist for a while. It’s one of those I’ve always wanted to read and always saw everywhere but never got around to buying it. But I did! And right then I saw it was the book of the month at my local women’s bookstore. I practically binged this read because I just loved Satrapi’s voice all the way. I loved her as a child and her change to a young adult. Her ideas were always so fun and complex. She is stubborn and so creative. I related a bit to her, even though our situations growing up were so so different. But my favourite thing was how this is just a tale of normal life in the times of war. Even with everything going on, everyone in this story just wanted to live their lives and have a good time. And that’s the subtle power of fighting an oppressive regime as well. That’s just so amazing. The power of people just being free is so unbelievable. This book left me full of hope for the future and the world. Things can get tough, both personally and country wise but while there’s hope and brightness somewhere, things can be fine eventually. I kinda needed that at this point in my life.

Have any of you read this one? Let me know your thoughts on it!

Until soon,

Cat.

2 thoughts on “Manga/Graphic Novel #61 – Persepolis, by Marjane Satrapi

Leave a Reply

