ARC | Book Review #165 – They Both Die at the End, by Adam Silvera

Hey everyone!

Here is my review for They Both Die at the End, by Adam Silvera.

This book comes out tomorrow, go get it from Book Depository

9780062457790_f1b45

Synopsis:

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure and to live a lifetime in a single day.

 

Pros:

  • interesting new premise
  • little twist on YA

 

Cons:

  • premise also gave me major anxiety and unfocused me a lot from the story
  • I’m not very into books that happen only in a span of a day, for some reason
  • lacks some depth and character development
  • a tab bit cliché
  • writing isn’t anything great
  • lacks a lot of world building

 

Verdict:

I’m not the biggest contemporary YA fan, as you might have guessed, but Silvera has been one of those authors I’ve always been curious to read. Unfortunately, this one didn’t work so well for me. Firstly, the premise just gave me a lot of anxiety. I’m terrified of dying and just imagining having to live without knowing when you would get the call saying you’re dying and then having to actually exist knowing it would be imminent… Urgh, I don’t even want to think about it more. It was hard to focus on the book because that thought kept creeping on me. But after a while I got over it a bit. Still, there was just something about it that didn’t click for me. Overall, I found this book a bit cliché. The whole live like you’re dying is a good idea but here is just full of pre-made sentences and feelings. The relationships between the characters were cliché as well as the things that happen. I didn’t have a big problem with the characters themselves but I did have with some plot points. At one point a bomb blows up and it seems like everyone is fine with it, nothing in their day to day life being really affected? This book lacks serious world building work , because the whole dynamics of the population and this service that tells you the day when you die, was unclear. Even though I feel like this book tries to accomplish something, and it indeed has a good message (don’t let anything stop you from living your life like or do what you want), it kinda felt short from it.

Have you read this one? Or any other Silvera novel? Let me know.

Until soon,

Cat.

Leave a Reply

