Book Review #40 – Ugly Love, by Colleen Hoover

Hello guys!

Here’s my review for a title I never expected to actually read! It’s Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover.

ugly-love

Find this book at Book Depository

When the teaser for the movie adaptation of this novel came out, a few months back, I got in a little “fight” on Tumblr because someone misinterpreted me when I said the teaser looked awfully like Fifty Shades of Grey. So, I wanted to check for myself and see to what extent the two books could be compared.

Colleen Hoover is an american writer of new/young adult and romance novels. Her work is completely idolised on Tumblr. Everyone seems to not only have read all of her books but also loves them to death.

So, here’s the deal: Tate moves in with her brother and meets one of his friends, Miles. When the attraction between the two is too much to bear, they make a deal – they’ll just have sex. Miles has only one rule: don’t ask about the past and never expect a future.

And this, my friends, is a recipe for disaster. I mean, how many gone-wrong stories about two individuals just having sex and then getting feelings involved do we really need? This book is no different. And oh boy is it bad…

I pretty much had a problem with everything in this book so I’ll try to talk about them all.

First of all, this book isn’t advertised as smutty. Can someone explain me why? It has so much sex! After about 100 pages, it’s all about sex. I got so many messages saying “It’s not all about sex!!!”. Well, sorry to disagree but it is. Besides, the sex scenes are so boring and unrealistic. People don’t have full dialogues during sex and honestly, how many times can he give her a mind blowing orgasm? It’s ridiculous.

Every other chapter, the POV changes from Tate, in the present day, to Miles, six years ago. Mile’s chapters were a pain to get through. Between the perfect yet doomed relationship, the poem like written structure and that “twist” that you could see from ten thousand miles away, I don’t know what was worst.

Everything about this book was overly predictable which made it incredibly boring. From the story to the stereotypical characters. The girl who ends up falling for the guy she’s supposed to just have sex with, the guy who’s totally scarred from his first love, the overly protective older brother and the “wise” old man. And the writing isn’t that special, which doesn’t help. It took all the strength in me not to throw this book out of the window. I don’t think I ever felt so relieved to finally see the last words of a book.

The only thing I can give a slight praise to this book is the fact that some of the characters are pilots, which isn’t a career you see everyday. I think that says a lot about the quality of this novel.

I’m not being mean for the sake of it, I just deeply disliked this book. I don’t see the reason why this book is so loved. But anyway, I’m glad it’s over now. Probably won’t pick any book by this author ever again either so there’s a lot I need to cross off my TBR!

Well, have you read Ugly Love? If so, what were your thoughts on it? Please let me know!

See you soon and have a great day!

Cat.

4 thoughts on “Book Review #40 – Ugly Love, by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

